

## **DFW Rezoning Information**

**District 7** | Collin and Grayson Counties – Inclusive of School Districts and Charter/Private schools located inside each County.

- Both Counties are currently in District 7
  - o Collin County School Districts Celina, Anna, Blue Ridge, Melissa, McKinney, Prosper, Frisco, Allen, Lovejoy, Princeton, Farmersville, Community, Wylie, Plano
  - Grayson County School Districts Tioga, Gunter, Van Alstyne, Whitewright, Tom Bean, Howe, Collinsville, Whitesboro, S and S Consolidated, Sherman, Bells, Dennison, Pottsboro

**District 11** | Dallas, Rockwall, Kaufman, and Ellis Counties – Inclusive of School Districts and Charter/Private schools located inside each County.

- All Current District 11 schools/Districts stay in District 11.
- Add in neighboring schools from Kaufman and Ellis Counties
  - o Kaufman County School Districts Forney, Terrell, Crandall, Kaufman, Scurry-Rosser, Kemp
    - This County was in District 6
  - o Ellis County School Districts Ferris, Red Oak, Midlothian, Waxahachie, Maypearl, Avalon, Palmer, Ennis, Italy, Milford
    - This County was in District 5

**NEW District 12** | Tarrant, Denton, Cooke, Montague, Wise, Parker, Hood, Johnson, Clay, Jack, Palo Pinto – Inclusive of School Districts and Charter/Private schools located inside each County.

- Tarrant County School Districts Grapevine-Colleyville, Carroll, Keller, Birdville, Hurst-Euless-Bedford, Arlington, Fort Worth, Eagle Mountain-Saginaw, Lake Worth, Crowley, Mansfield, Everman, Kennedale, Castleberry
  - This County was in District 7
- Denton County School Districts Northwest, Argyle, Lewisville, Little Elm, Ponder, Lake Dallas, Denton, Krum, Sanger, Aubrey, Pilot Point
  - This County was in District 7
- Cooke County School Districts Era, Valley View (Cooke), Gainesville, Callisburg, Walnut Bend, Lindsay, Muenster, Sivells Bend
  - This County was in District 7
- Parker County School Districts Azle, Springtown, Poolville, Peaster, Garner, Millsap, Weatherford, Brock, Aledo
  - This County was in District 7
- Johnson County School Districts Godley, Joshua, Burleson, Alvarado, Venus, Grandview, Cleburne, Rio Vista
  - This County was in District 5
- Hood County School Districts Granbury, Lipan, Tolar
  - This County was in District 5
- Counties with no Current Texas DECA Chapters Clay, Wise, Jack, Palo Pinto, Montague
  - These Counties were in District 7



## **Additional Changes to Counties and DECA Districts**

- Erath County will now be part of District 9. This county was formerly part of District 5.
  - Current Chapters Impacted: Stephenville High School
- Terrell, Pecos, Reeves, Loving, Winkler, and Ward Counties will now be part of District 10. These counties were formerly part of District 9.
  - o Current Chapters Impacted: Pecos High School
- Gillespie and Caldwell Counties will now be part of District 2. These counties were formerly part of District 5.
  - Current Chapters Impacted: Fredericksburg High School and Lockhart High School
- Wichita, Archer, Young, Throckmorton, Haskell, Stonewall, Baylor, and Wilbarger Counties will now be part of District 9. These counties were formerly part of District 8.
  - o Current Chapter Impacted: Wichita Falls Career Education Center.
- Crockett, Schleicher, Menard, Mason, Sutton, Kimble Counties will now be part of District 2. These counties were formerly part of District 9.
- San Saba County will now be part of District 5. This was formerly part of District 9.
- Ector Midland, Martin, Andrews, Gaines, Dawson, and Borden Counties will now be part of District 8. These counties were formerly part of District 9.
- La Salle, McMullen, Live Oak, and Bee Counties will now be part of District 2. These were formerly part of District 1.
- Aransas, Refugio, and Calhoun Counties will now be part of District 3. These were formerly part of District 1.
- Victoria, Jackson, and Lavaca Counties will now be part of District 3. These were formerly part of District 2.



## **Student Leadership Opportunities**

The 2024-2025 District Officer Teams will be elected at the 2024 District Conference. If a student leader from a chapter that is changing Districts is seeking to run for a District Officer position, that student may attend the District Career Development Conference that they are moving to, and apply, interview, and campaign to serve. Students will compete in their current District for the 2023-2024 school year unless otherwise communicated.

Chapters that are impacted may have the chapter advisor(s) and an appropriate amount of student delegates attend the 2024 CDC for the District that they will be moving to.

These schools, new Districts, and 2024 CDC dates are as follows:

- Pecos High School Moving to 10 (Conference January 12<sup>th</sup>, 2024)
- Stephenville High School Moving to 9 (Conference January 17<sup>th</sup>, 2024)
- Wichita Falls Career Education Center Moving to 9 (Conference January 17<sup>th</sup>, 2024)
- Lockhart High School Moving to 2 (Conference January 11<sup>th</sup>, 2024)
- Fredericksburg High School Moving to 2 (Conference January 11<sup>th</sup>, 2024)
- The MILE Moving to 11 (Conference January 17<sup>th</sup>, 2024)
- Cleburne High School Moving to 12\*
- Granbury High School Moving to 12\*
- Joshua High School Moving to 12\*
- Note that the dates listed above are for VOTING/ELECTION purposes only. You will still compete in your 2023-2024 DECA District for this academic year.

\*Since the majority of the chapters that will form the new District 12 are currently participating in District 7, the 2024-2025 District Officer Election will take place at the District 7 CDC (January 16<sup>th</sup>, 2024), separate from the election of the new District 7 Officer Team.

Chapters will only vote as part of the election for the DECA District that they will be in for the 2024-2025 school year.

Student leaders must meet the application deadline of December 1<sup>st</sup>, 2023 to be eligible to run for any District Officer position.

Please contact Josh Shankle, Executive Director, to arrange this activity.